Hello April

So my old, much-loved blog at blogspot has decided I’ve posted enough photos. And I’m cheap and lazy (but also fabulous!!). So I’m going to restart over here until they kick me off here too. Are you with me?? Good. I thought so.

Last April, I posted 26 posts, one for each letter of the alphabet, and since I’m trying to jumpstart this new location, I’m a-gonna do it again. Last year I started a day late, so I beat myself once more and am starting two days late! Bwah-ha-ha.

So here we are, back at the beginning. Big A, little a, what begins with A?

April. Oh, April, you fickle bitch. Last April, it was the first non-flooding spring we’d had in ages, and it came early, so by April all the winter gear was packed away. Today I slipped on our icy front walk and fell into the car. This wouldn’t be such a big deal but last week I fell down at the movie theater, and I have a big tender bruise the entire length of my right shin. I know I shouldn’t complain, because I didn’t break any bones, unlike some people this week, but it still hurt. And I blame April and the insistent Winter that Will Not End.

Asparagus:  is just fun to say, of course, but my mother did not grow it in her vegetable garden, so I have never learned to eat it with much regularity.  A few years ago, though, just before Easter, I was in Hornbacher’s and some nice lady was handing out samples of asparagus. Which, surprise surprise, hardly anyone wanted. I always feel bad for people handing out unpopular samples, so I agreed to try some. And it was fantastic! I stayed and talked to that woman for twenty minutes about how to cook it and what spices she used. Celery salt is, apparently, a magical thing. I’ve still never cooked it at home, but damn, that was some mighty fine asparagus.

Albino: perhaps due to my life-long fascination with circus sideshows, I have always been interested in albinism. I wouldn’t wish it on anyone, and often it can be deadly, if only socially, depending, but the idea of being born without pigment? I think that’s amazing. I especially like it when albinos are considered sacred or somehow better than their pigmented brethren.

What are your favorite words that begin with A, dear readers? Do tell.

 

About Jennifer

Writer teacher mama sister friend sewist poet trying to stay warm in Minnesota's northwest.
This entry was posted in Blogland. Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

