V Dribbles

V Dribbles

We were late to the big Easter egg hunt (this was not entirely our fault), and by the time we reached the starting line, all the eggs were gathered. So many tears threatened, and all I could think to say was “We’ll do it right next year, honey. I’m sorry.” As she buried her face in my side, crying, a little girl and her father saw us. “Kayla,” her father said, quietly, “I want you to give some eggs to this little girl, because she didn’t get any.” Kayla, bless her heart, didn’t even flinch, and handed over four plastic eggs, from her bag to V’s. I can’t begin to tell you how thankful I was for those thoughtful people, or how impressed I was by Kayla’s swift kindness.

Inside one of the eggs was a ticket for this regulation basketball: one of the biggest prizes of the entire egg hunt. With literally hundreds of children swarming around us, I could not find Kayla again, but I hope karma remembers and treats her well. She very much deserves it.

About Jennifer

Writer teacher mama sister friend sewist poet trying to stay warm in Minnesota's northwest.
Image | This entry was posted in Belle Taine, Daughter. Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

