Underbelly

Finally, the annual mushroom post you’ve all been longing for. I guess it’s been a few years since the last one, so I’ll try to make this one all the better.

003

This is the Yoda of mushrooms. He’s old and wrinkly and tired. But kickass, too.

006

Leaning tower of mushroom. Most of these are so tiny. Notice the size of the grass, people. Let this be your guide.

008

This is a giant, almost plate-sized mushroom on a stump. It’s brilliant yellow, and I think it’s growing while I take the photos.

013

The underside of the yellow plate mushroom. Note the bokeh.

016

And a better lit underbelly. It’s just the loveliest shade of yellow.

017

A side shot. I may be obsessed with this mushroom.

018

Ruffly mushrooms. These are neighbors to my lovely golden plate mushroom.

020

This looks like a marshmallow in the grass, or maybe a very white stone. Nope! It’s a fungus!

022

Like an umbrella turned inside out. So pretty.

025

Lanky stalk, ruffled underneath…again, note the grass. You’ve stepped on a lot of these, I guarantee it.

027

Mushrooms often come up in twos or more, and I assume it’s to stave off the loneliness. In taking photos, I sometimes move grass or sticks, but I never disrupt another mushroom. I can’t be responsible for the heartbreak.

054

Here’s our final entry in this year’s [first?] mushroom post. It is a tiny mushroom, photographed during complete, thick cloud cover. Unlike all of the others here, it’s grey, and more delicate than any of the ones pictured here. My favorite of the bunch.

About Jennifer

Writer teacher mama sister friend sewist poet trying to stay warm in Minnesota's northwest.
This entry was posted in Belle Taine, Mushroom, Photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

