V

Tomorrow, V turns ten. Ten! The day after tomorrow, she starts fourth grade. While I try to get my brain around how time works, I thought I’d write her a letter in honor of her first decade. But it all seemed either too explainy–nothing like what I’d really say to her–or too inside-joke-laden, because that’s most of life these days. So I’ll just talk about her, and see if it makes a post.

In the last month, she’s come to love Gilligan’s Island. I wanted her to see some of the shows I grew up watching, and this was the one that stuck. Two weeks ago I went to tuck her in to bed (and take away the iPad) and she said “Just a minute, Mom. I’m watching Family Feud with Gilligan’s Island vs. Batman.” I confess to creating this monster, and proudly. She’s developing an animated reboot of the series, but this time she wants to be on the island, too. “It has to be animated, Mom, ’cause most of the actors are dead.” Okay, darlin’. Whatever you like. To balance the tale of a fateful trip, we’ve also got healthy doses of Steven Universe and Gravity Falls, in mostly equal measure. And the movie of our summer was clearly Inside Out, which, if you haven’t seen it yet, we’d both prefer you get on that.

She loves many Japanese things. There’re several anime that she’s found and loves (including Sailor Moon, Tokyo Mew Mew, and Fairy Tail). She’s been teaching herself Japanese words and phrases, and we have fallen in love with our local Asian market, with all the coconut flavored things. We share a love of Hayao Miyazaki’s films, and speaking of films, she wants to audit my World Cinema course this spring semester. I would be honored to be her teacher.

Here’s hoping ten ushers in new adventures, and we enjoy some calm, in English or Japanese. This first decade has been a fantastic ride, and I’m looking forward to the next one.

About Jennifer

Writer teacher mama sister friend sewist poet trying to stay warm in Minnesota's northwest.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to V

  1. Pingback: V, revisited | Languishing

Your thoughts?

