Sunsets

028

On my way to pick V up from her weekend with her father, I pulled over to take some pictures of the sunset. Every time I see an especially lovely sunset, I think of this book, Never Miss a Sunset, which Myra owned throughout my childhood, and which she and Dewey may have actually read to us: I can’t quite remember. I do recall that the book was about a pioneer family, the patriarch of which insisted that, no matter how busy they were, they should always appreciate the beauty of a sunset, preferably together.  (I may have figured all of that out from the cover, though, to be honest). 030

When V got in the car, I told her that I had almost fixed the shower (which was broken when she left on Friday), but in doing so had discovered our hot water heater was kaput. Her response?

“Everything’s breaking! Including your heart.”

Someone should really start writing down the things this girl says.

About Jennifer

Writer teacher mama sister friend sewist poet trying to stay warm in Minnesota's northwest.
This entry was posted in Daughter, Grief, Love, Photography, Read, V (potato). Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts?

